Pregnancy Cravings #BerryCravings: es podeng

PregnancyFood

Continuing this post, there is another odd craving that baby Berry (or Mama Berry) can’t seem to kick out of the head for almost 2 weeks. I really, really, really want es podeng.

It is a traditional dessert, similar to ice cream with a rougher texture made of coconut and processed with a traditional tube ice maker tool. The toppings are usually black sticky rice, avocado, small pieces of bread, condensed milk, chocolate and beans. Es Podeng is usually sold in a cart by the street vendors, so it is mostly not hygiene. That is why it is very difficult to find a preggo-safe es podeng.

I asked around and Googled to find a clean version of es podeng. Apparently, there are some restaurants that sell es podeng, such as Sate Khas Senayan, Bebek Bengil (Dirty Duck) and Remboelan. Actually, the on in Bebek Bengil is exactly es puter, but similar, they call it Es Bebek Putih Jambul (we shall try it next time).

Everytime I am in a mall, I check out the restaurants and food courts to find es podeng, no luck for almost 2 weeks. One day I went to Senayan City, and I spotted Sate Khas Senayan there. In a very excited mood I approached the counter, but sadly, since it was just a Sate Senaya Express (counter) they didn’t sell es podeng. Right across Senayan City, there is a Remboelan restaurant in Plaza Senayan, but with my big 7-months-preggo-belly, I did’t have the energy for any mall hopping. Just when I was about to give up, I saw a Remboelan restaurant just across the food court and ordered my es podeng.

The plus point is that I found a clean traditional food preggo heaven in Remboelan, they have all the traditional snacks and desserts a preggolita could ask for, es cinch hijau, es cincau hitam, es campur, es teler, es delima, es cendol, es kacang, sop buah, wedding ronde, sekoteng, bubur sumsum,  bubur ketan hitam, bubur candil, and all sorts of jajanan pasar. Such a heaven. However, Remboelan is a fancy Indonesian restaurant, so they set the pricing accordingly. For instance, es podeng usually cost around Rp 5,000 to Rp 10,000 per dish, but they charge Rp 38,000 for the es podeng, same goes for the other menus. I don’t mind, as long as I got my es podeng. So.. mission es podeng: Success! (after 2 weeks).

One thought on “Pregnancy Cravings #BerryCravings: es podeng

Leave a Reply

