You should give up coffee… or so they said!

“You should give up coffee”
Frankly speaking, this was one of the things that added to my preggo-phobia. Back then, I was very scared that if I got pregnant, I would need to give up coffee for 9 months. As a heavy coffee addict, that is hard challenge for me.
All those pregnancy myths could be very confusing for a rookie mother. Luckily, my doctor is the type who doesn’t limit my food/drink intake (except for alchohol and smoking, of course). He believes that it is okay to eat/drink anything, in moderation, that is.
I read (a lot) of studies that says it is okay to consume less than 200 mg of caffeine a day (equivalent to two cups of most coffees, or five 12-ounce cans of soda)
However, mommys should be aware that there are discrepancies in various brews. Say that 200 milligrams of caffeine is equal to one 12-ounce cup of coffee, but a grande 16-ounce at your favorite Starbucks cafe has 320 milligrams of caffeine. Also, you need to be mindful that other drinks/food contains caffeine too, such as chocolate, tea and soda.
For me, I limit my daily intake once a day, if I really need a booster. If I can afford it, I skip my coffee/tea/chocolate intake for the day. Also, I limited myself coffee-free for the first 3 months of pregnancy. Luckily, part of the 3 months was part of Lent Season and I chose to let go of coffee for the month (preggo cheat!).
So, I guess it’s okay to consume coffee, but be mindful of your other caffeine intake. It’s a bonus if you can skip consuming any caffeine at all for the day (you deserve a pat on the shoulder, mom!).
Leave a Reply

