Getting back on track

IMG_20160605_144917

Hi Buibu,

It’s been a while. Lil Berry is asleep and I have some bengong time now.

Everyone knows that mothers (especially rookie moms) have struggles, right? Everyone also knows that having a child changes your whole life. However, you might not know the extent of the changes. It changes your ‘normal’ standard.

I’ve been following January Harshe’s IG@takebackpostpartum since giving birth, and it was relieving to know that I was not the only one going through all this. Motherhood is tough, very though indeed, but it is beautiful at the same time. It changed my life, my views, my priorities, it changed me. It changed me to be a better person who is (unbelievably) capable to take on all the requirements as a mother.

It’s about empowerment. It just redefined the term ‘girl power’ to another level. We, mothers, are powerful beings, indeed.

“Postpartum is full of hormones, little sleep, survival mode, and figuring out a million different things with our new babies (and possibly toddlers and teenagers on top of it),” she wrote, adding, “It’s trying to breastfeed, getting a groove back in your marriage or relationship, and our bodies taking time to heal. It’s a roller coaster ride that is personal and different to each person and family going through it, but is also similar enough that most of us can relate on some level.” ~January Harshe

I’m not talking about the movement here, but this is my take on the #takebackpostpartum journey. I’m still on my 8th month post birth and still trying to take back my ‘normal’ life (before birth). It’s been a very foggy life for the past 8 months, especially the earlier ones. I went through it all. Baby blues, sleep deprived, high level of stress, and so on. I even went to a lactation consultant, because my breastmilk production was getting very low (I will talk about it later).

Then I realized, this is the ‘normal life’ from now on. DaddyBerry once told me that we need to move on with our lives and get back on track. I read (somewhere.. can’t recall *mama moment*) that you should list down the thing you miss, since before having a child and adjust, make it happen. I did. And I’m surprised that these items on the list are not forever gone from my life. Hey, movies, yoga, cooking, travelling, coffee shops and salon, welcome back to my life.

For instance, I really really miss watching a movie. So, I take turns with DaddyBerry to watch a movie. Now, our ‘normal life’ is about watching movie alone or at odd hours.

Say, yoga? Of course you can do it. I just have to let LilBerry join the activity. She loves it.

So, let’s get back on track, Buibu!

 

Btw. I am doing a really bad job on my New Year’s resolution, so I will catch up in the remaining months of 2016.

Leave a Reply

